Government Assistance

Are you aware that your business may be eligible for assistance in the form of grants, business advice or even overseas office space?

From research and development to hiring labour, there is a wide variety of assistance available to New Zealand businesses. It is commonly misconceived that the help is only for start-ups, but there are also a number of initiatives for mature organisations of all sizes. Grants may be given to develop new products and markets, including research and development and commercialisation of your ideas. There are a number of subsidies available if you are in a position to provide roles for the long-term unemployed, disadvantaged or people with disabilities. In addition, if you are exploring international markets, there are also services provided by overseas organisations such as the Japan External Trade Organisation.

How can you access this funding?

 In the first instance, contact your Regional Business Partner:

Northland Inc

 David Templeton

P: Contact :+ 64 9 438 5110

E: david@northlandinc.co.nz

W: www.northlandinc.co.nz

Auckland Tourism, Events & Economic Development Ltd - Central

Rosalie Williams

P: +64 9 365 0543

E: rosalie.williams@aucklandnz.com

Wwww.businessaucklandnz.com

Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development Ltd - North

Wayne Voss

P: +64 9 354 0061

Ewayne.voss@aucklandnz.com

Wwww.businessaucklandnz.com

Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development Ltd - West

Julianne Gibbs

P: +64 9 354 0066

Ejulianne.gibbs@aucklandnz.com

Wwww.businessaucklandnz.com 

Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development Ltd - South

Kathie Agnew

P: +64 9 354 0089

Ekathie.agnew@aucklandnz.com

Wwww.businessaucklandnz.com 

Waikato Innovation Park

P: +64 7 857 0538

F: +64 7 857 0501

E: businessgrowth@wipltd.co.nz

W: www.wipltd.co.nz/what-we-do/grow-your-business/support-and-funding/
FB: www.facebook.com/WaikatoInnovationPark 

Tauranga Chamber of Commerce

Teresa Anderson

P: +64 7 577 8957

Eteresa@tauranga.org.nz

Whttp://www.tauranga.co.nz/ 

Activate Tairawhiti

 Jo Emerre

P: +64 21 816 760

E: jo@activatetairawhiti.co.nz

Wwww.activatetairawhiti.co.nz

Hawke’s Bay Chamber of Commerce

Brett Johnston

P: +64 6 876 5938

E: brett.johnston@hawkesbaychamber.co.nz

W: www.hawkesbaychamber.co.nz 

Venture Taranaki

Jenn Patterson

P: +64 6 759 5166

Ejennifer@venture.org.nz

Wwww.taranaki.info 

Vision Manawatu

Mark Hargreaves

P: +64 6 350 1820

Emarkh@visionmanawatu.org.nz

Wwww.visionmanawatu.org.nz 

Grow Wellington

Allison Ralph-Smith

P: +64 4 382 0068

Eallison.ralph-smith@growwellington.co.nz

Wwww.growwellington.co.nz

Nelson Regional Economic Development Agency

Melissa Hutcheson

P: +64 3 545 6858

Emelissa@eda.co.nz

Wwww.eda.co.nz 

Development West Coast

Nelia Heersink

P: +64 3 768 1076

Enelia@dwc.org.nz

Wwww.dwc.org.nz

Canterbury Regional Business Partners Ltd

Kerri Jones

P: +64 3 353 0035

Ecdc@cdc.org.nz

Wwww.cdc.org.nz

Otago Chamber of Commerce and Dunedin City Council – Economic Development Unit

Paul Allen

P: +64 3 479 0181

Ebiz@otagochamber.co.nz

W www.otagochamber.co.nz 

Venture Southland

Alistair Adam

P: +64 3 211 1400

Ealistair@venturesouthland.co.nz

Wwww.southlandnz.com

 

 

Whilst some of the larger funding applications may take some time to process, it could take just a few days to process the under $5,000 funds and around 2-3 weeks for a decision on applications up to $30,000. The majority of funding is on a 50/50 basis paid at the end of the project. Claims cannot be retrospective, so if you are about to start an R&D project, or trying to access a new market, then look for assistance now!

If you are interested in the opportunities for employers see the Work and Income New Zealand website at www.workandincome.govt.nz for details on how to apply.

Further details of all of the assistance on offer is available in the PDF document below, with a table including easy to use links to relevant websites. You may also wish to contact your usual advisor for further assistance with the application processes.

Download the  June 2015 Summary of Government Assistance